Ginger cookies

29 10 2009

cookiepile

What is it about ginger?

Does anyone want gingery foods when they’re NOT feeling sorry for themselves? Or when they’re NOT cold? Or when it’s NOT gloomy out? Or when they’re NOT obsessively listening to their old Thelonius Monk albums? Maybe it’s just me.

I also never want gingery foods in the summer or spring. It’s a fall/winter flavor for me. I dig my corduroys out from the bottom of my dresser; I buy giant chunks of ginger. Gingerbread, ginger-studded granola, ginger-miso soup – It’s a seasonally-influenced MOOD thing, you know?

punkin2

I bookmarked this recipe last year from the blog Christie’s Corner, and I’ve been going back to it whenever I’m feeling sorry for myself, or when I’m cold, or when it’s gloomy, or when I’m listening to jazz, or, of course, when I’m wearing my corduroys. Finally, this weekend, all of those events converged. A sign, I was sure, that it was time to finally make the darned things.

singlecookie

Can you see the chunk of ginger in this one?

Flaming Nora, are they perfect! Really. Chewy, gingery, crackly on the top. Buttery and snappily molasses-y. Excellent. We devoured way too many of them at once before I bagged up about 10 of the things to give to the facilities manager where I work. They’re his favorite kind of cookie, and since he’s done so many favors for me this year (like moving giant tables and installing white boards, and dealing with kid throw-up) I just felt like he deserved them way more than I did. I hope he enjoyed them.

So, if you are looking for the PERFECT ginger cookie, please, please make these! (oh, and check out Christie’s Corner. Such a great blog.)

Double Trouble Ginger Cookies (not even adapted, but made straight from the recipe at Christie’s Corner)

makes about 40 cookies

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup dark molasses
  • 1/2 cup crystallized ginger, minced
  • grated rind of 1 orange (optional)
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp cloves

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves) together in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together. Add the egg and molasses, and beat until combined. Add ginger and orange peel (I think this is what made these cookies SO perfect.). Now add the dry ingredients, and mix until combined. I whipped it all together in the Kitchen Aid, just in case you were wondering. Which you probably weren’t…

Scoop dough by the teaspoonful, and shape it into balls. If you’re feeling fancy, roll it in a little sugar before baking. It adds a touch of class. And let me tell you, I can use all the extra class I can get.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, but don’t over bake!

Eat while feeling sorry for yourself on a cold day when you’re listening to jazz and wearing corduroys. You will feel much better afterward, I promise.

cookiebite

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 10 2009
Charmian Christie

I’m so glad you like my cookies! This is a fitting tribute. Thanks so much.

I agree, ginger cookies are perfect for corduroy days. I never thought of it that way, but you’re so right!

Yours in the love of ginger.
Charmian

29 10 2009
christie133

Charmian, your cookies are incredible! I’ve got other recipes from your site bookmarked, too. I can’t wait to make them!

30 10 2009
twocranes

Ginger cookies and Thelonius Monk…what an intriguing combination. Have to try that!

1 11 2009
christie133

:) It’s a mood thing!

7 11 2009
Chocolate-ginger cupcakes « Sandwich Hoss

[…] cupcakes was just so tempting. (I seem to be going through a ginger “thing.” First those amazing cookies, now these cupcakes.) And I had a snow day. (That’s right, a snow day! In October! If you […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

