Perfect guacamole, every time

29 11 2009

How on earth did we end up with five avocados? Yeesh. I’ve no idea how it happened. No idea at all. It just rained avocados, apparently. And what with all of the holiday foodstuffs going on, I neglected them. I just couldn’t figure out how to work them into my brussels sprouts dish that I brought to our family dinner. Needless to say, they were starting to get a little, er, ripe.

I sliced one onto some green chile last night, which left me with four. What to do, what to do…Well, you know that old saw, “When life hands you avocados, make guacamole.” And since I just happened to have a lime that needed to be used, post-haste, as well as a wrinkly jalapeno, guacamole was what I made. Perfect.

I’ve no idea where I got this recipe, or if it ever even was a recipe. I’ve been making it for at least 15 years, ever since I found out what guacamole was and that it could made much, much better than the paste they served at Chi Chi’s right before the fried ice cream.

Guacamole

3 avocados

2 tablespoons chopped onion (can be white, yellow, or red, it doesn’t matter. Also, if you like more, add more!)

1/2 chopped jalapeno (or to taste)

juice from one whole lime

1 medium tomato, chopped (I used two small romas for what you see pictured here)

salt and pepper to taste (the salt is especially important)

chili powder to taste (I think I probably use about 1/4-1/2 tsp?)

a wee dash of cayenne pepper

a wee dash of garlic powder (I often forget to add this, and it turns out just fine!)

Roughly chop avocados and place them in a medium-ish bowl. Add onion, jalapeno, salt, pepper, lime juice, and other spices, then mash lightly with a fork. Taste to see if it needs more of anything (remember, start out light with those spices!). Oh, I prefer my guacamole to be a bit… rustic. And by rustic, I mean chunky. If you like yours smooth, then by all means, go to town mashing it. ¬†When it seems perfect, add the tomatoes and give it a little stir.

Serve with chips of some sort, or on top of a tostada, or just eat it with a fork.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 12 2009
oneshotbeyond

so good lookin’!

1 12 2009
christie133

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

