Tiny Apple Tarts

3 12 2009

I just adore tiny tarts.

Whoa, that sounded wrong. I don’t mean like Tila Tequila. *shudder* No, I mean actual desserts. Sometimes, like today, I just crave tiny fruit tarts. Flaky and fruity – they seem like they’re light; like a perfect snack with a cup of tea, or maybe, if I’m really feeling indulgent, with an afternoon cup of decaf. Yes, that’s right, sometimes I like to get fancy and pretend I’m in France. At least, I imagine everyone in France is eating pastries and drinking coffee in the afternoons…

If you keep puff pastry on hand, these are SO easy to make. They take maybe 5 minutes to throw together. Then toss them in the oven while the coffee is brewing, and voila, a lovely snack. Don your beret, put on some accordion music, and you will be utterly transported.

Tiny Apple Tarts (makes 2)

1/3 sheet frozen puff pastry (thawed)

1/2 apple, any type (I used Granny Smith, because that’s what I had), cored and sliced thinly

2 Tbs brown sugar

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/ tsp nutmet

1/4 tsp ginger

dash of ground cloves

1 tbs butter

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix apple slices, sugar, and spices in a small bowl. Cut puff pastry sheet in half. Cover with apple slices, and dot with a tiny bit of butter. Bake on a cookie sheet for about 20 minutes, or until pastry is puffed and browned. Eat while listening to Edith Piaf and staring contemplatively out the window.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 12 2009
Nikki

I am going to make tarts this weekend with decaf! They look so good. mmmmmmm…. and so easy!

8 02 2010
Morgan

Honestly Christiiiieeeee….. Yer killing me with all these delicious treats. I have been trying to cook a little more healthy. Adding lot’s o’ veggies to recipes like the turkey chili I made tonight. Mmmm. It was GOOD! Anyway then I go and read about your banana cinnamon swirl mouth orgasm and this apple trip down happy place lane. Keep up the delicious horrible wonderful work. You mean, mean woman! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

