Tiny Blueberry Cheesecakes

24 06 2009

The very last thing we need in this house is an entire cheesecake. Or two dozen cookies. Or a year’s worth of US Weekly magazines (OMG the stars, they’re JUST LIKE US!). I have terrible self-control when I’m around temptation like that. I will take a fork and go at an entire pie as the dogs stare on in horror and R. whimpers in the background. But I love dessert, so what to do, what to do?

TINY DESSERTS!

P6230226

Tiny, single (or double, since there are two of us) servings. Just enough for one meal with no leftovers for me to eat all night and into the next day (gah, peanut butter pie for breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, arrghgh!). I have Debbie Maugans Nakos’s Small Batch Baking, which has become a near-bible for me. It’s got piles and piles of great recipes, but sometimes we crave things that aren’t included in her kit and caboodle. Like blueberry cheesecake, for instance. All those blue, blue berries at the market. They just keep coming home with me, and I need to do something fine with them. So I searched around and found this. But of course it was for 12 tiny cheesecakes, and that, my friends, would be very very bad. Oh god, me and 12 tiny cheesecakes. Hold the phone Doris, Christie’s goin’ at those cheesecakes like a skeeter on aunt Esther. Anyway, I tinkered a little, and here’s what I came up with. It makes 2 individual cheesecakes that I baked in ramekins.

Tiny Blueberry Cheesecakes  

P6230227

Crust

3 graham cracker slabs

2 Tbs butter, melted

1/2 Tbs sugar

Cheesecakes

4 oz. cream cheese (I used reduced-fat because I’m trying to reduce my fat)

1/6 cup sugar (works out to be about 2 Tbs, give or take)

1/2 an egg (weird, I know. Crack the egg, swirl it around, and then use about half. Who says baking is an exact science?)

1/4 tsp vanilla

1 heaping Tbs Greek yogurt

Blueberry sauce

Generous handful of blueberries

Squeeze of lime (or lemon, whatever you have on hand)

2 Tbs of sugar

Splash of vanilla

Preheat oven to 300 Cut two 1-inch-wide strips of parchment paper about 4 or 5 inches long. Put them in the bottom of the ramekins so that the ends hang over. After all is said and done, you pull the hanging ends like handles, cheesecake handles, to get the cheesecakes easily out of the ramekins (after running a knife around the edges, of course).

Make the crust: Smash the graham crackers into wee bits and crumbs. Add sugar and melted butter. Divide evenly into each ramekin and press down. This made enough for hearty thick crusts, plus a little extra for snacking on. Refrigerate the crusts while you make the filling.

Make the filling: Whirl the cream cheese with a mixer of some sort (hand, stand, handstand) to make it fluffy. Add the sugar and mix some more (about 10-20 seconds). Now add the egg, mix. Next vanilla, and mix. And finally, the Greek yogurt. Mix some more. Divide the filling evenly into the prepared ramekins. Bake for 20 minutes or so, depending on your oven. I started obsessively peeking after 18 minutes, but had to leave them in for about 23 minutes. As with all cheesecakes, you want the edges to be set, but the middle to be jiggly. Refrigerate for a couple of hours or so. You could probably even let these suckers go overnight, if you can wait that long.

P6230213

When you’re ready to eat, make the sauce.  Smash most of the blueberries in a small saucepan (but make sure to keep some intact for loveliness). Add sugar, lime, and vanilla and a tiny bit (maybe a Tbs) of water. Cook over medium heat until it all comes together and thickens. Remove the cheesecakes from the ramekins using the CHEESECAKE HANDLES, and pour sauce on the top

Wow, ramekins. THAT word will take a while to get out of my head.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 06 2009
Jaimie Lusk

Tiny cheesecakes sound delicious. But a lot of work! I always talk myself into making a whole lot of something because its so efficient. But what is not efficient is eating a whole lot of tiny cheesecakes and then going on a diet. Alas.

25 06 2009
KAREN SANTIAGO

I have a terrible time with portion size. I don’t even really understand the concept of a single portion. I love this idea because it fits into my current purchasing behavior which only allows me small one serving desserts but I’d much rather have something fresh and homemade.

The recipe looks delicious. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Karen Santiago, NYC

Leave a Reply

