Tiny Frozen Nectarine Pies

9 07 2009

finishedfrozenpie

When I was a little grommet I didn’t have those long lazy summers that everyone seems to reminisce about. (insert tiny violins here) I was shipped off by yellow bus Monday through Friday to day camp. I know, DAY CAMP! It was like gym class all day long, with some arts and crafts time thrown in. The camp I went to, the one my mother was so enthusiastic about, managed to combine all the worst elements of school: kickball, paper mache, and social awkwardness; and it added to the mix awfulness like changing into a swimsuit in a locker room and having to wrestle (WRESTLE!) boys (though not at the same time, thank god). My family was just so gung ho about it all. I didn’t have the heart to tell them I’d rather go to library camp. Could you imagine? Sleep-away library camp? I think I’m on to something big here…

Anyway, I’m now making up for all that, all those… lost summers. I craftily structured things so that I have from June to mid-August off, and let me tell you something, people, yes, it’s just as great as you’d think. Finally, those long lazy days are mine! Ha ha ha ha! Mine, all mine!  

What do I do with all that time, you are wondering. Well, I go for long bike rides. I take the dogs to the park. I read. I putter around. I work on my manifesto and practice the art of hand-to-hand combat. I also like to sit around and think of things to cook, delicious things that I don’t have time to make during the rest of the year when I’m a slave to the man and my schedule is determined by bells. I especially like to find/think of/make summery desserts: fruity, summery desserts.

P7080071

These tiny frozen nectarine pies came from this recipe over at The Kitchn. I had to scale it down, since having an entire large frozen nectarine pie would probably spell disaster for us. The Sandwich Hoss household is not known for its restraint around desserts. This smaller version makes two individual pies, perfect for one dessert for two people. And like the original recipe on The Kitchn website says, they really are fast, easy, and cold. That sounds so wrong, I know, but they taste so right… 

I diverged from the original recipe a little. I used non-dairy whipped topping instead of whipping cream. I know, I know! Terrible. But as much as I loooove real whipped cream, it does not love me. I also think I changed the ratio of whipped topping to yogurt (more whipped topping, less yogurt), as these pies did not have the icy texture described in the original recipe. Oh, and I tried to make an oatmeal crust. It turned out well, but I’m thinking a gingersnap crust might really be great! Also, I’m thinking you could sub in any kind of fruit here, and add less sugar than I did (especially if you use the whipped topping, which is already so sweet).

I loved these. No, I really loved these. Hmm. Tiny frozen nectarine pie summer camp! That’s an even better idea than library camp.

Tiny Frozen Nectarine Pies (again, adapted from this recipe at The Kitchn)

Crust

1 cup uncooked oats

1/2 cup flour

3 Tsp melted butter

1 Tsb brown sugar

Pie Filling

1 nectarine, cut into smallish (1/2-inch) chunks (the original recipe calls for peeled fruit, but I left mine on for some color)

1 Tbs brown sugar

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (hmm, how would flavored yogurt taste here?)

1/2 cup whipped topping

Tiny splash of vanilla

For the crust

Preheat oven to 350 (I made these in the toaster oven. What? Don’t have a toaster oven?! OMG if you are a small-batch baker, they come in so handy!)

Combine all crust ingredients and press into two individual pie tins, ramekins, or muffin tins. I used glass custard-cup-type dishes. Bake in oven for about 15 minutes, or until slightly browned. Remove from oven and let cool completely. Depending on the size of your baking dish, you might have more crust than you need. My custard cup thingies were just big enough for a generous layer of crust, and I used all of it. 

For the filling:

Mix nectarines and sugar. After they get all juicy—maybe 15 minutes or so—mush them up with a fork and stir in Greek yogurt. Add the splash of vanilla, and then fold in whipped topping.

Divide filling into crusts. Freeze until firm (I think mine took about 2 or 3 hours). Definitely remove them from the freezer 10 to 15 minutes before serving, or they will be disappointingly rock-hard and you will scrape away them in a desperate, futile attempt to eat them. Not that we did that, of course.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

