The Squeaky Bean

13 07 2009

 

Coffee cake. I felt awkward about taking this picture, so I snapped it in a hurry.  Sorry it's not better!

Coffee cake. I felt awkward about taking this picture, so I snapped it in a hurry. Sorry it's not better!

 

 

OMG The Squeaky Bean. Despite not being a frequent eater-outer or a coffee shop person, I was excited about this place opening so close to my house. So when one of my fellow early-riser friends wanted to meet for coffee one day, I suggested The Squeaky Bean. And vaca santa, am I glad she agreed.

It’s not really a coffee shop, more like a restaurant that, just after opening in the mornings, has a coffee-shop vibe (or, at least it has on the two occasions I’ve been there. I’m a relentless morning person, always popping into places just after they open. I know, it’s horrible.  I’m THAT girl.). But despite not really being a coffee joint, they’ve got INCREDIBLE coffee.  And their pastries are wonderful – homemade and beautiful, but not overly fussy. On my first visit I had a little blueberry tart. The ratio of filling to crust was perfect (I just hate it when a fruit pastry is just ALL CRUST.). The blueberry filling was just sugary enough so that I knew I was eating a pastry, but not cloying; it didn’t mask the blueberry flavor. The crust was buttery and cakey (as opposed to flaky). Not very sweet, just perfect to offset the filling.

On my second visit I had the coffee cake. It was moist and had some sort of ribbon of awesomeness running through it. No, really, how did they manage that? What in the world is IN it? Almost chewy and caramel-like, but not quite. I didn’t want to finish it because I didn’t want it to be over. It was a perfect pair with the strong smooth coffee. 

 

Another hastly-taken picture that doesn't capture the beauty of this meal.

Another hastly-taken picture that doesn't capture the beauty of this meal.

 

 

Of course, judging the entirety of a restaurant on just two pastries and some coffee probably isn’t wise, but I’m hoping they can be an accurate litmus test. I do know that the shirred egg sandwich (on a croissant) my friend ordered looked incredible. She said it was pretty delicious. And did I mention how much I like the waitstaff? 

I can’t wait to go back. Budget constraints have really prevented me from eating out much, but I’m definitely going to reserve some ducats from next month’s pay to eat dinner here. In the meantime, I’m going to dig up a few bucks to go back for coffee and a pastry. 

The Squeaky Bean

3301 Tejon St.

Denver, CO 80211 303.284.0053

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

