Vegetable Frittata, Mark Bittman style

22 07 2009
P7210049

I WISH this picture were better. It was much prettier in real life.

I just love Mark Bittman and his column The Minimalist (in the New York Times). Last week he proposed a new way of thinking about the traditionally eggy frittata. He inversed the ratio of egg to filling, so that the vegetables inside just barely clung together with egg. 

Frittatas are a staple meal in our house. They’re so easy to make, and a great way to use up odds and ends in the fridge. Last night, after realizing that I had bundles of chard and spinach the size of my head, as well as three yellow squash, I thought that frittata night might be a good idea. I remembered Bittman’s newfangled frittata idea, so I watched his little video online (what, never watched one of his videos? Oh, please do! They’re really super.), and then got to work. 

P7210034

I used the aforementioned chard, spinach, and yellow squash, as well as a few slices of red onion, and some various bits of cheese (goat’s milk feta and some parmesan). I wilted the greens first; and marinated the squash and onions in some white wine vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper, and thyme, before grilling them. Once everything was ready, I tossed it into a small-ish frying pan, and then poured two eggs over the whole shebang.  

The only problem was that I think I was a little too parsimonious with the egg. I had a bad feeling that things weren’t exactly going to cling together. The egg only covered about two-thirds of the mixture. So I added a third egg, which seemed to fill things in nicely. Bittman did say to add two OR THREE eggs. In his video, I think he added three to a pan that was similarly-sized as mine.

The result: a very very veggie frittata without so much eggy-ness. Just as you’d expect, I guess! I thought it was delicious. There were a few parts that didn’t entirely hold together (mainly some globs of chard), but I’m not picky about my frittata wedges being symmetrical and perfect, so it didn’t bother me. I felt like I really got a lot of healthy bang for my buck with this. Sometimes frittatas can really be oppressively eggy, but this definitely wasn’t. I’m going to experiment with some other veggies (I’ve got a massive surplus of broccoli right now just waiting for some good ideas to come along and claim it.), and maybe also with doing two whole eggs and one egg white mixed together. I’ve also got some ham and some bacon in the freezer that need using. Perfect frittata fodder.

Veggie Frittata, Mark Bittman Style

Approximately four cups of veggies, any type, cooked a bit (or raw if you’re hardcore)

Three eggs, all stirred up together

Your favorite seasonings to compliment veggies

Cheese (if you so desire. I always desire.)

Olive oil

Preheat oven to 350

Pour a nice glug of olive oil to coat the bottom of a medium-sized frying pan. Add veggies (and cheese, or meat, or whatever). Pour eggs on top to cover everything. Move the pan about a little bit to ensure that the egg gets in all the crevices. Cook on the stovetop over medium heat until the edges of the egg are set, then pop in the oven for about 10 minutes or so, until the rest is just firmed up. Not overly firmed, mind you, just firmed. You don’t want a rubber veggie frittata, do you? 

Enjoy with my favorite, a glass of wine. Or water, or cream soda, or whatever your favorite is.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

