Life-changing Lemon-Yogurt Zucchini Bread (and a jam exchange update)

7 08 2009

P8060044

First of all, a jam exchange update. I received jam from my partner, and let me tell you something, I have definitely lost the contest. I am humbled, all of my jam hubris went out the window with one tiny taste. Wowzers.

I was lucky enough to be paired with The Food Muse who sent me two different types of jam: apricot and quadraberry. The apricot jam does not contain commercial pectin, so it has a wonderful texture – spreadable, spoonable, eatable, lovable. It tastes SO apricot-y. It’s summer, in a jar.

The quadraberry jam is a little firmer, but not too firm. It’s still the perfect texture for dolloping on a homemade scone. Or on a piece of toast. Or on a cracker. Or directly into your mouth – take out the middleman! Mr. Muse used four different berries (duh, QUADRAberry) and I swear you can taste each one. It’s so interesting because at first you just think, “Of course, berries.” But then after a second you think, “Oh, strawberry. Wait, raspberry. Oh, and there’s the blueberry.” I can’t wait to try it on a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

I’m so happy about the jam I got! Thank you, Food Muse!

I’m sending my jam off today to my partner, and I’m really hoping she likes them.

But on to other things. Like this life-changing recipe for zucchini bread. This is the best zucchini bread I’ve ever had in my life. No point in blathering on about it, it’s just the best zucchini bread in the world and you really have to make it.

P8060052

Lemon-Yogurt Zucchini Bread (changed slightly from the American Test Kitchen)

2 zucchini (Grate them and then squeeze out as much of the moisture as you can. You want about 2 cups, total)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

6 Tbs melted butter

2 eggs

1/4 cup plain yogurt

zest and juice from one lemon

2 cups flour (I only had 1 1/3 cups left, so I added whole wheat to make up the difference and it turned out very well)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 375, then butter and flour your loaf pan. I actually used three vintage Pyrex pans for this. I used two that are about 4 x 6, and one tiny one about 3 x 4.

Mix flour, baking soda/powder, cinnamon and salt in a large bowl. Then mix butter, sugars, eggs, and lemon juice/zest in a second bowl. Fold zucchini and wet ingredients in the with flour mixture. Be careful not to over-mix.

P8060036

Fill baking pan of your choice with batter and bake for about 50 minutes or so.

Enjoy with homemade jam!

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 08 2009
Mike Ahmadi

Thank you for the kind words. Keep making jam. You get better each and every time. Ripe fruit and keep it simple is the key!

18 08 2009
christie133

Mike, you deserve those kind words! Your jam is awesome!

Leave a Reply

