Ice Cream Sandwiches and Mark Bittman Cookies

12 08 2009

sandwichcookie

I love the library. I have since I was a tiny kid. All. Those. Books. All those books for free! Piles and piles of them, all yours for the reading! And if they don’t have what you want, they’ll order it for you. For free. I’ll spare you the details about how I used to play library in my room for hours. That’s right, I played library. OMG.

I still go the library all the time, and I still love it just as much as I did when I was a kid. But I had a traumatic experience there last week. I returned some books, and was falsely accused of still having another out – one I knew I returned a month or two previously. I asked the librarian if it could possibly have been improperly checked in and was actually sitting on the shelf. “I know I returned it!” Ha! She’d heard that one a million times before. The check is in the mail! It’s not what you think! My dog ate it! “WHATEVER,” was what her cold, steely gaze silently said. Whatever. “We are very good at getting books properly checked in,” was what she said out loud.

But I knew I had returned it because I remembered it was a terrible book and a struggle for me to finish and I was so, so happy to slide it through the book return. Good riddance, and I shall never EVER read another Amanda Cross book again, I thought. Ha! I had to prove my innocence. I marched off, found the book on the shelf, and triumphantly cleared my name. The librarian was still a little grumpy about it all, and she muttered something about how they’re usually so good about checking in books.

With my library virtue restored, I decided to check out more books. In addition to two Cynthia Harrod-Eagles mysteries, I found a copy of Mark Bittman’s The Minimalist Cooks at Home. I’ve said it before, but I just love that Mark Bittman. His whole VB6 theory? Genius! If only I wasn’t so swayed by mid-day turkey sandwiches, I’d be there with him. Anyway, I added the book to my pile and moseyed to the checkout, only to find out that IT HADN’T BEEN PROPERLY CHECKED IN! Ha ha, pompous librarian-lady! IN YOUR FACE!

Ahem.

The Minimalist Cooks at Home has been pretty good. I haven’t had much time or many ingredients to really experiment with the recipes in it, but I have been tinkering with his “One Batter, Many Cookies” recipe. It’s a basic butter cookie recipe that is made in the food processor (wow!) and can be adapted to make countless types of cookies. As I’ve said before, I just can’t make a normal-sized batch of cookies because I will eat every last one of them in one sitting. So I scaled it back by three-fourths and adapted it three different ways. The first, chocolate chip cookies for ice cream sandwiches, was the most successful.

Not too bad looking, right?

Not too bad looking, right?

The second type, jam thumbprint cookies (must do something with ALL THAT JAM), was a success only if you consider completely flat pancake cookies with goobers of jam spread out on top a success. I’m pretty sure I don’t. Consider it a success, I mean. (though they were sort of tasty).

They look like they have wounds. Oy vey!

They look like they have wounds. Oy vey!

The third trial, yogurt chip cookies, wasn’t exactly a culinary tour de force, although they were extremely edible.

Not shabby, but nothing special

Not shabby, but nothing special

It’s an interesting recipe. It calls for cornstarch, but no baking soda/powder. And, as I said before, it’s made in the food processor. The cornstarch is supposed to give the cookies a silken texture, as it prevents the gluten in the flour from becoming overdeveloped. Honestly, though, I’m not sure I noticed a difference. The chocolate chip cookies were slightly cakey, though only very slightly. (the other ones weren’t, I think because I inadvertently added too much butter) The recipe also calls for milk, which I don’t usually add to cookie dough. Also, the butter did not need to be at room temperature, which eased the process. Really, these were so simple to throw together; making them in the food processor really streamlined the process. That’s why they call him The Minimalist, I guess.

I wouldn’t give these cookies a perfect 10 rating, but I do think they formed a wonderful base for an ice cream sandwich because they weren’t too crispy. R said they were the best dessert he’d ever eaten, but I’m wondering if he’d just never had an ice cream sandwich before. I think the basic cookie recipe is definitely worth trying again and again, with different adaptations. And I’d like to try to make other cookie recipes in the food processor.

This recipe makes about 8 cookies made from large teaspoonfuls of dough.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches (cookie recipe adapted from Mark Bittman’s One Batter, Many Cookies recipe)

1/4 plus one tablespoon flour

1/4 cup brown sugar (you can use white sugar, if you’d like for a less butterscotchy flavor)

1 Tbs cornstarch

dash of salt

1 Tbs egg

1/4 tsp vanilla

4 Tbs butter (I think I will reduce it to three next time to see what happens)

splash of milk (I used half and half, because it’s all I had)

chocolate chips (I used about 1/2 cup)

Ice cream of your choice (I used vanilla), about 1/2 cup?

Preheat oven to 375 (I used my toaster oven).

Add dry ingredients to food processor, and pulse a couple times. Add everything else and pulse a few more times, adding milk if necessary to get the dough to the proper consistency. Add chocolate chips and pulse once more. Now you have dough! And how easy is that?!

Drop by teaspoons onto a prepared cookie sheet (I lined mine with parchment paper because it’s not non-stick). Bake for about 8 minutes, or until browned to perfection. Cool completely.

Let your ice cream soften a bit before using. Scoop up a tablespoon or two and plop it on a cookie. Add another cookie on top and enjoy  with a good library book, but be careful not to get smeary ice cream prints on the pages, or else the library lady will be verrry unhappy with you.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 10 2010
Post Nasal Drip Treatment :

we use a national panasonic food processor and this seems to be a bang for the buck-.*

7 10 2012
Omer Bendzans

Post nasal drip is really annoying. What you can only do about it is just take some anti-histamines to control the mucus. ,:,’;

Please do view our very own web-site
http://www.prettygoddess.com

14 11 2012
Olin Moselle

antihistamines do work for my post nasal drip but i am still looking for a good natural antihistamines that works like Chlorphenamine and Hydroxyzine.”

My very own web blog
http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/canker-sore-remedy/

Leave a Reply

