Apple-Pomegranate Crisp

28 10 2009

prettypom

I went to the now-defunct Antioch College. It was located in Yellow Springs, Ohio, a wacky little hippie town in the middle of nowhere. Antioch was a strange place – super small, and packed full of mostly rich, really nutty kids. The school had what they called a cooperative education program, which meant that students alternated quarters on and off campus – studying on campus, working off campus. My first work experience took me to Marin County, California, where I worked as a classroom aide at an alternative elementary school. It wasn’t the best time I’ve ever had. In fact, I think I titled my final project for that internship “Evil Devil Child, Take Me to an Early Grave.”

While I was there, I lived with a family who had a son at the school where I worked. They were all nice enough, though at the time they seemed really foreign. Really California. For instance, one night they passed a platter of artichokes around the table, and everyone took one. They all seemed so… nonchalant about it.  But I’d never eaten a whole artichoke before (only artichoke hearts from a jar). I had nary an idea about how to eat the thing. I had to ask, which threw them into hysterics. That’s right. I was laughed at by a family of Californians. *sigh* A formative moment in my life.

Well, when our produce box arrived this week with two pomegranates in it, I was hearkened back to that day. I knew how to eat pomegranate seeds. Or, at least, I thought I did. I always sort of crunched them to get the juice out, then I’d spit out the hard bit inside. But I wanted to do something  more with them. Something fabulous. I found a recipe for an apple-pomegranate crisp on the website of our produce company. Perfect. Only, I had no idea exactly what part of the pomegranate to add to the dish. It said, “remove skins and white membranes.” But, isn’t that all there is in a pomegranate, aside from the seeds, of course?

pompomI had to Google “how to cook with a pomegranate.” Or something like that. I found out you can actually eat the entire seed. I feel so silly now. Like if a family of Californians were to read this, they’d surely laugh at me. No, really, you can just go ahead and eat the whole darned seed! Just eat it; it’s not a big deal. I think maybe I was afraid to eat the entire seed before because people always told me that eating fruit seeds would make fruit trees grow in my stomach. Wouldn’t that be horrible? I always had a vivid, awful image of that in my head when I was a child.

So, the crisp. I clipped the recipe down from its original size, of course; so this makes two crisps in individual ramekins. I’m pretty pleased with the results. It was verrry autumn-y. The pomegranate seeds added a fun touch, and a great flavor that complimented the apple really well. All in all, a nice fall dessert. I’ll definitely make it again, if I have a pomegranate to use.

finishedcrisp

Apple-Pomegranate Crisp (adapted from the Door-to-Door Organics website recipe)

Makes two small crisps.

2 apples, sliced (use your favorite variety)

Seeds from 1/2 a pomegranate

1/8 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinammon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/8 cup rolled oats

1/8 cup brown sugar

1/8 cup flour

1/8 cup butter

Preheat oven to 350. Butter two ramekins

Mix first five ingredients together in a small bowl, and then divide between the ramekins.

Mix next four ingredients with a pastry cutter until mixture is in pea-sized bits. Sprinkle over the filled ramekins.

Bake for about 30 minutes, let cool before eating.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 12 2009
Nikki

I’ve always spit out the crunchy part of the seed too. I totally learned something new about pomegranates today. Thank you.

5 12 2009
christie133

Excellent! Nikki, it changed my life to find this out about pomegranate seeds! They’re so much more fun to eat now. And the seeds are like… well… nature’s rake, if you will. Ahem.

Leave a Reply

