Red Pepper & Tomato Soup

24 11 2009

Apparently, I owe an apology to my fan! (My sole loyal reader. Thank you, Jerry! Of course he was an English teacher. Note to self: proofread more carefully.) I haven’t written in a while, I know.  Work, I tell you, work has left me no time to write or cook or comb my hair or make sure my socks match each day.

Anyway, I’m finally coming out of my ginger thing. Branching out a little. We’ve had some cold weather and snow, and what goes better with cold weather and snow than soup?

I’ve always been a fan of tomato soup, especially on a cold day, partnered up with a grilled cheese. So, when my mother told me that she’d been making this version of tomato soup, I had to try it. It’s so easy. And the final product is really impressive. In fact, it would make a good Thanksgiving Eve dinner, because it’s pretty light (though it feels substantial as you’re eating it).

Red Pepper & Tomato Soup (Courtesy of my mother. I have no clue where she got the recipe. Maybe she invented it.)

This version feeds two people and leaves some for leftovers the next day. You can easily double or triple or quadruple or maybe even octuple it.

1 can diced tomatoes

1 jar roasted red peppers (I think mine was about 12 oz)

1 can broth (my mom said to use chicken, but I actually used veggie, the Better Than Bullion stuff.)

Dried basil, to taste (I bet fresh basil would be scrumptuous)

Pepper, to taste (mine needed no salt, what with the broth, but by all means add some if you like it)

Combine all ingredients in a pot on the stove over medium heat. Let it cook for a bit, till it’s all heated through. Then whirl it through the food processor or blender, or use an immersion blender, until you get the consistency you like. But for heaven’s sake, be careful! It’s so dangerous to whirl hot liquids, people! I left mine a tiny bit chunky. Rustic, right?

Return the soup to the pot and reheat, if necessary.

This is especially good with chunks of homemade bread.

 

Actions

Information

One response

1 05 2010
Ceil Martin

Hey cutie, just logged on to your blog for the first time! Thanks for the mention. Glad you liked the soup enough to include it on your site. Love ya lots, mom.

Leave a Reply

