Cinnamon Swirly Bread

6 12 2009

I have a terrible fear that my house smells bad. I know, gross, right? It’s just that we’ve got these two giant old dogs, and I don’t want to be one of those people who doesn’t realize that her house smells like giant old dog. But I also don’t want to be one of those people who obsessively cleans. It’s a real Catch-22.

Lily Von Lilybuns, stinky dog extraordinaire

Scrappy Von Scrappleheimer, he's happier than he looks.

So, I try to keep things reasonably clean, but I also try to air things out a lot. And I burn a lot of candles, too, but I don’t want to be one of those crazy candle-burning people. So mostly, I try to bake things that give the house a heady cinnamon smell. And when I saw that Megan over at Megan’s Cookin’ made this cinnamon bread, I thought it might be the perfect antidote for my giant-old-dog-stink-phobia. Turns out, not only did it smell great, but it tasted even better.

I made a few little changes from her version – I reduced the sugar by 1/3 cup and used sucanat instead of white sugar (I like the maple-y flavor it gives baked goods. I also used yogurt instead of buttermilk. I never have buttermilk on hand, but I had a bunch of containers of plain yogurt that were nearing their sell-by dates. That made my batter a lot thicker than hers was, I think, since mine needed to be globbed into the pan instead of poured, but it still turned out marvelously. The only problem was that I was afraid of the cinnamon-sugar  that is layered in the batter. I only used about 1/2 of what I had; I should have used it all, as my cinnamony ribbons of deliciousness were a little sparse. I’m not sure why I was afraid – I think I had visions of it goobering up and burning, or something. Well, it was still a great bread. It stayed very moist, and was a perfect afternoon treat on yet another frigid snowy day. Oh, and it masked any giant old dog smells for hours. Perfect!

Cinnamon Swirl Bread (adapted from Megan’s recipe)

1/4 cup softened butter

1 egg

2/3 cup Sucanat (or regular sugar)

2 cups flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup plain yogurt (or buttermilk, or, I wonder if a flavored yogurt might be good…)

1/3 cup sugar

1 Tbs cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 and butter a 9 x 5 loaf pan

With a mixer, beat butter, egg, and Sucanat (or sugar) together. I did mine in the stand mixer, and I really let it go for a while, until it all got fluffy.

In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Alternate mixing the flour and the yogurt into the butter/egg/sugar mixture.

Now, mix together the cinnamon and the sugar. Add 1/3 of the batter to the loaf pan. Sprinkle about 1/3 of the cinnamon sugar on top of the batter. Repeat with layers of batter and cinnamon sugar until everything is in the loaf pan. Make sure you top the batter with a hearty layer of cinnamon sugar!

Bake for about 45 minutes or so, until a toothpick inserted into the loaf comes out clean.

Breathe deeply to enjoy the scent of baked goods.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 01 2010
andrewfrog

i might need to try this too, we have a sometimes stinky boxer and 2 cats…thanks for the recipe

3 01 2010
christie133

It definitely helps! Now if only I could train the dogs to bake cinnamon swirly bread for me…

24 01 2010
Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread « Sandwich Hoss

[…] few posts back, I made cinnamon-swirly bread in an attempt to rid my house of any weird pet odors. It worked like […]

Leave a Reply

