Cookie Coma, part I (Cranberry-White chocolate-orange cookies)

28 12 2009

Does this happen to you? I get so jazzed up for my yearly cookie-making extravaganza, and then by the time I’ve mixed the first batch of dough, I’m feeling a little… done with the whole thing. So by the time night falls, I’m cursing the holiday season and each stick of butter it requires. Terrible thing, to resent cookies.

This year I made it through round one okay. But soon those cookies had been doled out (treat week at work, Robert, friends, family, etc), and I realized it was time for round two. Really. A round two of Christmas baking. So it couldn’t just be typical sugar cookies or gingerbread this time. No, I needed THE MOST AWESOME COOKIE ON THE PLANET. And, people, I found it. I did. I. Literally. Couldn’t. Stop. Eating. These. Cookies. I was in a cookie coma.

I couldn't stop eating them, and now I can't stop looking at them.

I found these online, here, and I have to say, they are the most delicious cookies. They have all the Right Flavors of the holidays. You must make them. You must. They are all the good things from the holidays, like happiness and Santa Claus, and they will make you forget the bad things, like angry relatives who’ve had too much sherry.

The original version called for macadamia nuts. But I think that adding nuts to cookies is really nuts. So instead, I added orange zest. Doesn’t that seem really holiday-appropriate? It tasted fabulous. I baked one batch, which yielded about a bazillion cookies. Like, five or six trays. I used a generous teaspoon of dough for each cookie. They were a good size, not too big, thank god, because I swear I couldn’t stop eating them. One after the other. I shoveled them into my mouth. So embarrassing. What if they had been big cookies? What if they had been heroin?!

Two of the trays I removed from the oven a minute or two early. I was worried because they weren’t a gorgeous caramel brown, but they ended up staying softer (but not soft–I mean, still crisp on the outside, but soft on the inside). The cookies I left in for a wee bit longer were a tad more brown, but were more crunchy. Both types were life-changing.

Cranberry-White Chocolate Orange Cookies (adapted from Epicurious)

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup (packed) golden brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups dried cranberries (about 6 ounces)
  • 1 1/2 cups white chocolate chips (about 8 1/2 ounces)
  • zest from one giant orange or two smaller oranges

Preheat oven to 350.

In a small bowl, mix together flour, soda, and salt.

With an electric mixer (I used my handy-dandy stand mixer) beat butter until fluffy. Then add both sugars and beat until well mixed. Then beat in eggs, vanilla, and orange zest.

Now, at a reasonably low speed, beat in dry ingredients until things are just blended. Then add cranberries and white chocolate, and stir it in.

Drop by teaspoonfuls (or larger, if you’re feeling daring) onto a cookie sheet. The original recipe says to cover the cookie sheet in parchment paper, but I was all out, so I just did them on the plain ole cookie sheet, and it worked just fine. Bake for about 15 minutes, until they are just barely golden.

And now, please be careful. These things are dangerous, I tell you.

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 01 2010
Cookie Coma, part 2: Shortbread « Sandwich Hoss

[…] Round Two of holiday baking, one type of cookie wasn’t enough. I wanted to go with a classic, but I had already done sugar cookies and […]

10 01 2010
Turk182

I am writing this from the intensive care ward, in which I was placed due to these cookies being too delicious. Just a word of warning.

10 01 2010
christie133

Hee hee! They should have a warning label!

Leave a Reply

