Almond Cake (or, David Lebovitz, why do you torture me so?)

13 07 2010

So, after a wacky few months wherein I had no time to write, cook, eat, or think, I am back in the kitchen. Except it’s a new kitchen, in a new house.

I am trying to teach Scrappy to bake David Lebovitz's almond cake for me.

I haven’t baked anything in ages. Ages, I tell you. Not since the pizza cake! So when I saw this recipe, I was like, “Well now that does seem like a nice way to break in the new oven.” Doesn’t it seem like a perfect, simple summer dessert? Something that would make your house smell nice? You know I am into that.

Unfortunately, I baked this cake on one of those days when everything I do goes so very, very wrong. Do you ever have those days? I manage to break delicate objects that I love. I drill way too many holes in wall while just trying to hang a simple curtain rod. I fall off my bike on a smooth trail. I drastically overfill a cake pan so that it spills all over the bottom of the oven while baking, filling the house with an acrid burning almond smell instead of a sweet cakey homey smell. *sigh*

I got my 8 inch cake pan mixed up with the 9 inch cake pan, because, well, it was just that kind of day. And after I poured the batter in I thought to myself, “Gee, self, this cake pan seems so… FULL.” But I put it in the oven anyway. (Insert Nancy Kerrigan-esque Whyyyyyyyyyyy?) But despite that ridiculous mistake in judgment, and despite scraping burned batter blobs from the bottom of the oven, and despite the less-than-attractive top of the cake, this thing was a m a z i n g. Seriously. The perfect dessert. PERFECT. Moist, but not too moist. Sweet, but not overly so. Buttery, almondy. You know, it’s also probably kind of classy. I think this is a cake that could impress. Maybe not with a weird-looking top from a bad case of batter overflow, but when baked in the right-sized pan, this cake could be used as a barter item to get you whatever you want.

The only problem with it was that it sat on the counter, torturing Robert and me all night. We started with one large-ish slice each, served with berries, and then spent the rest of the evening taking tiny slices from it, because somehow eating 400 tiny slices until the cake was gone seemed better than eating 8 normal sized pieces until it was gone. Are you like that, too? Why is that?

It's so delicious you won't even want to use a fork.

Well, I will make this cake again. And again and again. But only when I have company to help me finish it. Or when I can give some of it away. I won’t bother re-typing the recipe, because you can get it here. And David Lebovitz’s blog is a great read. Much better than mine, anyway.

Actions

Information

7 responses

26 07 2010
Pickles! « Sandwich Hoss

[…] the almond cake I haven’t turned on the oven. It’s just been too hot. But it’s not too hot for […]

23 08 2010
Angela

I made this twice in the past week. David Lebovitz has two slightly varying recipes for his Almond Cake so we wanted to compare the difference. Both were outstanding, but our preference was the recipe that calls for 2 sticks of butter, 8ozs. almond paste, etc… I bake often with my family as my critics. My mom requested that I make this cake for every future birthday. The husband and mother-in-law and son agreed that the cake is fantastic too. I will definitely make this cake again and again.

26 08 2010
Leroy

Ooo, ooo, make ME some almond cake! (But preferably just make me a couple of slices.) And then there is that butter rum bark too….

5 09 2010
christie133

Angela, I will have to find the other recipe! I think the one that I used was the one w/ the two sticks of butter (really, how could that NOT be good?). It was so amazing! I will try the other one and do a taste test!

Leroy, I promise I haven’t forgotten about the butter rum bark! It might have to wait til the holidays, though…

5 08 2013
handmade beads

Thanks for some other fantastic article. Where else may anybody get that kind of
information in such a perfect method of writing? I have
a presentation subsequent week, and I am at the search for such
information.

13 08 2013
fofuchas

Nice respond in return of this question with firm arguments and explaining the whole
thing concerning that.

9 11 2013
Anisette of Melbourne

I have not tried the recipe yet. I desperately need it for a birthday cake. Can the almond paste be replaced with ground almonds and the cake be done with an electrical beater?

Leave a Reply

