Pickles!

26 07 2010

Since the almond cake I haven’t turned on the oven. It’s just been too hot. But it’s not too hot for PICKLES!

We are total pickle hawks here. We rarely buy them, though, because have you bought pickles lately? They cost an arm and a leg. Or, at least the good pickles, the kosher dills, do. Totally out of reach for the hoi palloi. So when I happened on a recipe for fridge pickles in the latest issue of Organic Gardening, I was all, “Totally dude, I am making these. Totally.”

Have you made fridge pickles? THEY ARE SO EASY! It only takes a few minutes to throw it all together and pack them in jars. the next day you have delicious pickles. Don’t worry about canning them properly, just eat them in a timely manner and you will be fine. One recipe I found said they will keep for at least 9 months. Must be all the vinegar? Well, I made these last week and they are almost all gone. All six jars of them. So I’m not worried about not eating them before they turn.

I made two varieties: Sweet dills and kosher dills. I used a couple old-ish cucumbers I had chillin’ in the fridge, and I put them in some clean old jars. Here’s the recipe for the sweet dills, courtesy of Organic Gardening. To find a recipe for kosher dills, just do a quick interweb search. You can tinker with the recipes pretty easily, too. So if you prefer a zesty pickle, it would be pretty easy to add some red pepper flakes to a non-zesty recipe.

Refrigerator Pickles (from Organic Gardening)

1 pound medium cucumbers

3 cloves garlic

1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns

1/2 teaspoon whole mustard seeds (I used yellow)

1 teaspoon fresh dill weed (I think I used a lot more. I heart dill)

1 whole dried bay leaf

2/3 cup brown sugar (I used slightly less. Next time I make this recipe, I will cut down even more)

6 1/2 tablespoons white vinegar

6 1/2 tablespoons white wine vinegar

3/4 cup water

Cut cucumbers into spears or slices (I did both, just for variety and because I had different sorts of jars). The official recipe says to put them in a 2-quart container or jar with a lid, and then add the garlic, peppercorns, mustard seed, dill weed, and bay leaf. Then the instructions say to stir together the brown sugar, vinegars, and water. Pour the concoction over the cucumbers, put the lid on the jar and shake the jar well. Chill for 24 hours before eating.

I handled things a little differently. My jars were all small, so I mixed everything together, save for the pickles in a large mixing bowl. I added the pickles to the jars and then poured the vinegar mixture into each jar, trying to carefully divide the cloves and seeds and such among the jars. It didn’t seem like an exact science, and everything turned out just fine.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 07 2010
stephchows

Too cool!!! I just made some super quick pickles the other day but these look 100 times better!!!! So glad you are joining the exchange again this year! I love the fact your were making jam when the email came in 🙂

18 08 2010
Michael Beyer

Your recipe sounds great. These are my favorite bread and butter pickles. They are what grandma would have made: http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/17/your-classic-bread-and-butter-pickles-2/

26 08 2010
Leroy

Hey, along with almond cake and butter run bark, please make me pickles too. But there’s a twist. I want pickles made with lemon juice. I wonder if they would be good. I want DILL pickles made with lemon juice, maybe with vinegar too. Not sweet pickles. Ugg, can’t stand sweet pickles.

Leave a Reply

