Vegan Ice Cream (made with one little ole ingredient)

20 07 2011

I won’t give you any lurid details, I will just tell you that I can’t really eat ice cream. Wish I could, it’s delicious stuff. So when I stumbled upon this idea all over the interwebs last summer, I was intrigued. Then I made it, and I was hooked.

I won’t even bother to write out a recipe, I mean, one ingredient, right? Take frozen bananas, two for a perfect dessert size, one if you’re not terribly hungry but want something cool and sweet, or many, many more if you have a stomach of iron or are feeding more than just yourself. Cut up said frozen bananas, place them in a food processor and whiz them around until they form a creamy paste. And there you go. Ice cream. Hippie vegan style.

HELPFUL TIP: Slice up a few bananas BEFORE you freeze them, and then pop them in the freezer for later. Because peeling frozen bananas is annoying. Not impossible, if you have a sharp knife, but annoying. I’m always having to peel frozen bananas when I make this because I never have the foresight to peel them before freezing them. I don’t know why.

In case you’re wondering, it’s really best to eat it right away. You can put it back in the freezer, but later on it’s just not quite as fabulous. Also, yes, you can add various bits of different kinds of fruit, but they don’t have the same ice creamy texture as the banana, so don’t add too many. Also, yes, you can add coconut milk to give it a little extra pizazz. And yes, you can add cinnamon. Yes, you can also add agave, but it’s not needed at all. My preference is really when it’s just made with bananas.

Actions

Information

One response

14 08 2011
yowza

Yeah! We discovered this during the short while that we owned a masticating juicer. If you ever find yourself with a fancy juicer, that is another great method of making “ice cream” from frozen fruit. There really is nothing like banana, though.

Leave a Reply

